Good at naming things?

April 30, 2017 at 3:36 pm Leave a comment

Naming things is an underestimated skill. Naming products is a part of the brand, part of the story, which is also on the market. While I want to give as much information in the title as possible, “Cat’s eye brick stitch pear shapes with Swarovski Crystal Necklace” is a mouthful. A shorter title like, “Crystal Cat’s Eye Necklace,” could describe any number of other items. Both options are boring.

My bartender pals make it look so easy when they name cocktails. I feel like I had the hardest time naming my new favorite necklace. I had to crowd source. Kind of a fun social experiment to see how many did, didn’t, and in-between (meaning suggesting word association might help) make suggestions. Here’s what I got from the exercise:

Poire (French for pear)
Winter is Coming
Golden Leaves
Cersei’s Jewels
Endless Sunset
Galactic Disco (Haha! Thanks, Mrs. Partner)

Why did I settle on Alice? I made the majority of this necklace while watching Once Upon a Time, and while Alice in Wonderland does not figure prominently, there is activity in Wonderland with the Mad Hatter and Queen of Hearts. Really, the use of cat’s eye cabochon made me zero in on the Cheshire Cat and Dinah. Alice likes cats, and so do I. So… yep.

So, are you good at naming things? What’s your process?

Entry filed under: Handmade Jewelry. Tags: , , , , , .

April Adamant and Art Nouveau Hair Decoration

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2017
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


