The month of purple

February 28, 2017 at 12:34 am Leave a comment

Amethyst is the birthstone of February. I failed in my new years goals to make anything amethyst or purple, but I did donate platelets and get a purple pressure bandage. (Public Service Message: go donate blood! Make your appointment today at your local blood bank. Give blood three times a year!)

I took a break from a Mucha-style headdress to do some sewing. It’s been tough getting out from behind my sewing machine; I have been in the zone! Since January, I have made three vests, three reversible bow ties, two reversible berets, one reversible suspenders, altered one brazier (you know, a bra), and made my own appliqué (post coming shortly) while watching Star Wars Clone Wars on Netflix (in the correct order). I have plans next to alter two dresses, a pair of silk boxers, and make my first neck tie, but I thought I would give the machine a break.

Other exciting things have kept me from making new purple jewelry, such as Cider Con 2017 in Chicago, kicking the cold I developed after Cider Con, a baby shower, a singing gig with In the Groove, an Oscar’s viewing party (I don’t really care much about the Oscars, but it is a dress-up party), and an unpredictable work schedule to offset the time I missed. I did make a nail-enamel-flower comb/headdress that turned out awesome of the Oscar party… I’ll put it on the store soon.

Meanwhile, I do already have purply items on my Etsy and in my store. I should start on March with aquamarine before doing anything else.

Entry filed under: Costumes and Accessories, Handmade Jewelry, News. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Meet Cleo Handmade appliqué on stretchy knit dress; 1st try, not bad

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

Most Recent Posts


