Headstart on January and Prohibition Celebration

December 6, 2016 at 12:11 am Leave a comment

Garnet. The great thing about garnet is: 1, it’s red– I just love red; 2, red is a great color for this holiday season; and 3, it is January’s birthstone and January is right around the corner. Remember, I said I wanted to do more with birthstones in the future?

The creative bug bit me this weekend and I’ve been working with garnet I bought at the beginning of MaggieMakesIt. I pulled apart a few items that were too simple to be interesting, and the result has been a more Modern Art flavor.  The necklace below looks freeform without actually being freeform. It’s very ordered, in fact: 22 identical pieces are joined in a chain with a modified, longer 23rd piece joining the chains in the middle front. I think it’s my new favorite piece. I have also made several earring options to wear with it, or on their own. Stay tuned for more garnet items, as I still have some carved leaves and briolettes to add to this garnet collection.

Today is the anniversary to the end of Prohibition, so it’s time to dress up like it’s 1933 and let the bubbly flow. (Please drink responsibly, everybody.) The time period of Prohibition coincides with the Art Deco movement of the 1920s and 1930s, and this is one of my favorite time periods. The Fremont Theater, while it was opened in 1942, still rocks the Art Deco style Architect S. Charles Lee did so well. I modified the motif on the marquee into a headband below. While I’m really pleased with the way the piece turned out, I was disappointed with the way it looked pointing backwards, like a 1950s kerchief on a cleaning housewife. Even moving it down to the side didn’t look quite right. Last week, I had this epiphany to point forward instead, and now it totally works for me. I also want to add a few loops to the back so it can also be worn as a necklace.

You may have noticed I let a few things expire on Etsy, but everything is still available at MaggieMakesIt.com. As you can see, I am continuing to deliver on my promise to add new products before the holidays. Stay tuned for five new items next week, and if time allows, I may be able to add a bonus five more products the week of Christmas. We have 19 days to go for Xmas and Chanukah; keep that in mind while you are thinking about your orders.

Cheers!

Entry filed under: Handmade Jewelry, News. Tags: , , , , , .

Fulfilling those goals and holiday jams Holiday Goal Achieved

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


