The Halloween Vacuum

November 3, 2016 at 2:44 pm Leave a comment

I was honored this year that my manager asked me to be responsible for decorating a room at the restaurant for the Halloween bash they throw every year. This is my favorite holiday and I so miss being a part of the veterinary clinics haunted house (Joel!), that I naturally said, “Eff, yeah!” Her only parameters were, “Haunted and creepy, not cutesy,” to paraphrase.

clay bonesbone wreathI had a super grand idea to turn the Garden Room into an ossuary, but I don’t have access to huge amounts of bones anymore (I used to walk over all manner of animal bones at Oceano Dunes when I worked out there), and buying bones, even fake bones, gets expensive. I did find some great budget faux animal skeletons at various shops. I had to scale back my plan to make the budget and resort to dollar store purchases, thrift stores, coupons, and good ol’ ingenuity. I’m particularly pleased with the modeling clay vertebrae that I made for the wreaths, black and purple bouquets,  and spider-web-bone-bundles. Excavated a bunch of scrap fabric in my closet to add texture to the  wreaths (I knew I kept these scraps for some reason), which I am the most proud of. I finished out the room with the assistance of my neighbors who do flowers and fabrics for weddings; they let me borrow 100 pounds of beautiful driftwood and curly willow to round out the room (Thanks, Laurel and Matt); I’m sure I brought much entertainment to Downtown SLO by wheeling it down there on my wagon.

howl garden room

1. clay bones in the bouquet, 2. glow stick emptied into jar (not my idea, but it does look cool), and 3. the cheesecloth has a skull in it!

I am sad Halloween is over (Can we do it again? Do I really have to wait a whole year?!). I am stuck in a vacuum now that these projects are finished, but don’t worry. I working on reordering my project priorities. I’ve been toying with the idea of making more seasonal jewelry items and featuring birthstones. I also sewed a new costume this year, and it went together fast, which has me all excited about a new sewing project every month. I’ve been meaning to do a series of vests for ages. You’ll see some more beautiful projects before too long.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Uninspired is Repurposed and The Emotional Challenges of Online Jewelry Business I have goals

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2016
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


