Failed Orange Caramel and Apple Cider Caramel

April 23, 2015 at 8:49 pm 1 comment

Deep dark barrel storage at Somerset Cider Brandy Company. What's not to love?

Deep dark barrel storage at Somerset Cider Brandy Company. What’s not to love?

Three things have kept me from writing for you.

Dominion Online. I haven’t been this obsessed with a game since Words with Friends.

Cleaning the backyard. Hey, it’s spring and I have to grow things because we have so many seeds and volunteer seedlings in the compost. I must make room in the backyard  for working on the dome cover for the geodesic dome we take to Burning Man. Gotta clean the kegs back there so we can put home-brew in them for our friends wedding in June. So its cutting up old Christmas trees from the last few years, and weeding and rearranging. I’ve been enjoying an evening fire from inside my house to avoid that campfire smell (to no avail).

Planning our trip to UK and executing said trip. (Finally, after so many years of saying, “we should got to the UK,” we have finally gone. Our two week trip began with John Cameron Mitchell reprising the role of Hedwig on Broadway (so good, so good) and checking out the new cider bar Wassail (sooooo goooood). Then off to cider country in Somerset, followed by Wales, the Lake District, Glasgow, the Yorkshire Dales, Doncaster CAMRA beer festival, the Peak District, Burton upon Trent (the birth place of Pale Ale), and ending in London with the Egyptian collection at the British Museum, and the beautiful Highgate Cemetery, because I must go to at least one cemetery.)

Highgate Cemetery rivals the ones I've seen in NOLA.

Highgate Cemetery rivals the ones I’ve seen in NOLA.

In between, I do still get to experiment with recipes, donate blood, and work out with my balance ball DVD like a 30-something. I am ashamed to say I completely botched this one. Burnt Caramel Sauce from Joy the Baker. I added everything all at once instead of burning the sugar first. Stupid. Face-palm. It didn’t get very dark and separated in the fridge. I mean, it still does the job, but I feel like such an idiot. Way to read the recipe, Maggie. Way to stir your burning sugar and cause crystallization making your butter separate from your caramel (thanks, Nigella).

I did manage to find a use for the caramel-failure, other than the obvious. The mixture is very similar to candy-ing for nuts. So, with the help of a big bag of organic walnuts from Costco, I’ve been candying them with about once a week. They are awesome on my power greens salad for recovering my iron after donating blood.

Joys recipe also shows me that you can add any juice to caramel to flavor it. The restaurant where I serve tables make a goat cheese flan with beet caramel sauce. They just use the beet juice byproduct of roasting beets. Brilliant, right?! So, I’m going to try an apple cider caramel sauce (only two results when I Google this, so yay, I get to raise awareness).

Yeah, action shot!

Yeah, action shot!

Apple Cider Caramel

  • 0.5 cup cider
  • 1.5 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons honey (because I don’t have corn syrup)
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 0.5 cup half and half (hand mixed because I ran out of cream, and you really could use milk if you wanted, but use good milk, good fatty milk, I hear buttermilk is good, too)
  1. Cider, sugar, honey ONLY in the pot until brown enough. (I still need to work on getting mine darker.) Resist the urge to stir. Remove from heat occasionally to check color as bubbles will obscure it.
  2. Remove from heat and stir in the rest until smooth and allow to cool. Great with ice cream, yogurt, creme fraiche and strawberries or bananas. Or sticky toffee pudding!

Stay tuned for more!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Pi(e) Day Observed; I hope you ate some today The New Yellow Gold; Chorizo Gravy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. laurelap  |  April 23, 2015 at 8:59 pm

    I am glad that you enjoyed so much on your trip to the UK! You keep finding great things to try! Impressive!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2015
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


