An Unfortunate Incident that leads to Chocolate Covered Bacon

February 2, 2015 at 4:18 pm Leave a comment

IMG_3049

I would not buy chocolate with garlic flavor.


Can we agree that gift baskets are good? How about Organic produce produced by well guided alumni? My cousin got us this wonderful gift basket from her college filled with wonderful things that alumni have produced after their matriculation. Raisins, potato chips, garlic, honey, popcorn, chocolate, and more.  While I think we can agree that all those things are delicious, I’m not sure if we can agree on the unholy union of garlic and chocolate.

But bacon chocolate, yes, I would buy that.

That’s right folks. The garlic cuddled too long in the awesome box of edible goodies and it’s essence infused into other items in the box. The wonderful garlicky flavor and aroma has taken hold of the fat in the almonds and in the milk chocolate disks, forever joining those flavors. I’m not so sad about the almonds; I can stick those in a salad with some oil and vinegar and they are a perfect addition. But the chocolate. I can’t get over the garlic flavor now married to the chocolate. (Miss Partner’s reaction to tasting it was classic, but I’m not allowed to post those pictures.) The fresh garlic funk and the lovely roasty, fruity flavors of the chocolate are not a good complement. Not. Good. No matter how many people post recipes for chocolate-covered roasted garlic, chocolate garlic truffles, and black garlic chocolate cake (I admit, this last one intrigues me), I can’t enjoy this chocolate with the garlic flavoring.

Bacon saves garlic-chocolate from ridicule by the chocolate world.

Bacon saves garlic-chocolate from ridicule by the chocolate world.

What to do when no amount of mixing with peanut butter will help? It’s me, so I can’t just throw it away. I have to find a way to save this situation, to give this wonderful product a purpose again. We must turn to savory. Enter Bacon. Bacon again saves the day. Bacon, a flavor as powerful as garlic. It’s like making lemonade with lemons, but better. Perhaps, instead of that tired old phrase, I’ll start saying, “I can make garlic-chocolate into garlic-chocolate covered bacon.” Maybe that is too much of a mouthful.

Recipe. Uh, yeah. It’s eye balls estimate on the amounts. Sorry. I don’t really expect many people will have an occasion to use garlic-flavored chocolate, but I guess regular chocolate is cool, too. This should be an easy scale up or down recipe.

Too bad there won't be any left by the end of the day.

Too bad there won’t be any left by the end of the day.

APPROXIMATE RECIPE

3 pcs bacon cut into thirds

quarter cup chocolate chips or discs or pieces

  1. cook your bacon how you like it (I baked it, 12 mins at 400 F, flipping once). The approximately 2.5 inch pieces will shrink to about 1.5 inches; perfect bite size. Save the grease; makes great quiche or pie crust.
  2. melt your chocolate how you like (I stuck it in the oven last 4 min of cooking and then mixed it until smooth… with a fork or whatever you like)
  3. Use tongs or fingers if bacon is cool enough. Grab bacon and scoop chocolate on one side. Then other side. This will coat half the bacon piece. It looks pretty this way, and no one will be expecting a potato chip or sweet wafer inside. Lay dipped bacon on parchment.
  4. Finish all pieces of bacon. If there is chocolate left, get a little spoon and spoon the rest on bacon pieces evenly, or eat it if you feel you can. (I did lick the spoon. Couldn’t help myself, though I shuddered after.) Refrigerate until you are ready to enjoy or use as garnish on a cake or brownies.
Entry filed under: Snacks. Tags: , , , .

Tiny Desserts and Beer Tiramisu (Beeramisu) Herringbone Geek-out and new pieces in the shop

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Most Recent Posts


