‘Hood Honey Pumpkin Marshmallows and Other uses for Marshmallows

November 27, 2014 at 3:39 pm Leave a comment

The first time I heard about homemade marshmallows was an NPR interview with the author of Make the Bread, Buy the Butter. For the last three years, I kept seeing recipes for crazy kinds of marshmallows on Epicurious (Lillet, Champagne, etc.) and a local chocolate shop (sadly closed now) was making wine flavored marshmallows. For a while, I was excited about using leftover egg whites for marshmallows, which you can use, but don’t need. What you absolutely do need is a candy/fry thermometer.

Now, let’s talk corn and avoiding a trip back to the market. Many marshmallow recipes call for light (referring to color) corn syrup. I do not want to buy corn syrup for my marshmallows. Granted, it’s not the evil high fructose corn syrup, which initially caused me to turn away from it. I want to avoid giving more money to the heavily subsidized corn industry because I want that land to grow more heirloom barley and maybe even some hops, definitely for more squash. So selfish.

I couldn’t find a photo of them with honey, so this is my dad with the bees.

Since I have denied myself corn syrup, I still need to get my invert sugar somewhere. What else is gooey and sweet and has invert sugar? Honey (or cane syrup, but I didn’t want to go back to the market, remember). Fabulous honey. We’ve been hearing amazing things about bee vomit lately, but the fun facts I love best are; Alexander the Great was embalmed with it (mellified), and it survived 3000 years in an Egyptian tomb (look for this book at your library for more fun facts about honey).

I am fortunate to have parents that keep bees in their backyard in Oakland (‘Hood Honey), and whenever I ask, they give me some. Their latest harvest is lovely and floral and a rich amber color. And an internet search tells me I can substitute honey for the same amount of corn syrup.

I love squash, especially winter squash.

I love squash.

Remember, my obsession with pumpkin? Oh, I didn’t tell you yet? I collect them to display in my house around Halloween and then I eat them all the way through May, because they last that long. Sour cream pumpkin pie (cans of evaporated milk always sounded gross to me), pumpkin butter, pumpkin soup, pumpkin enchilada, pumpkin gnocchi, pumpkin turnovers, pumpkin clafoutis, pumpkin panna cotta, pumpkin liqueur… I could go on. Of course, I have to do an internet search for pumpkin marshmallows.

The following recipe is adapted from these two: Pumpkin Marshmallow and Honey Marshmallow (Haha! Urban Poser. What a great name for a blog!).

Look at those beautiful, buffy orange, sweet, spicy clouds!

Look at those beautiful, buffy orange, sweet, spicy clouds!

Let’s try the Joy of Cooking format, shall we?

In a small bowl, mix:

a third cup pureed pumpkin

1-2 teaspoons pumpkin spice (any combination you like of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, clove, and ginger; this way you can choose how spicy and if you want to feature a certain spice more, usually people choose more cinnamon)

Set bowl aside.

Now mix and sift:

quarter cup cornstarch

quarter cup powdered sugar

Set aside.

Line a jellyroll pan or half sheet pan with parchment paper and liberally dust with some of the cornstarch/sugar– let’s call it marshmallow dust. Leave no parchment exposed.

In a stand mixer with whisk attachment, combine (no need to stir):

half cup cold water

3 envelopes unflavored gelatin (I’ve seen vegan/vegetarian marshmallows using agar; go ask the internet)

Powdered gelatin will soften while you…

Heat in a saucepan, (small and tall if you have one):

1 cup sugar

1 cup honey

half cup cold water

It will bubble a lot and look like it’s going to boil over, so stir like mad until it reaches 240 F on your candy thermometer.

Start your mixer on low, and slowly pour hot sugar into softened gelatin. Then whisk on high for 12 to 15 minutes. In the first minute it will get really puffy. In the last minute, add pumpkin and spice mixture. The mixture will still be warm.

Pour puffy cloud of sugar over dusted parchment paper, and smooth with rubber spatula to desired thickness. Dust top with more marshmallow dust, and allow to dry and cool for at least two hours, better for four. Cut to desired shape with sharp knife and coat cut sides with more marshmallow dust. Store in cool, dry place. Eat within a week.

You can put anything you want on pancakes.

You can put anything you want on pancakes with jam.

Now let’s talk about how to eat those marshmallows within a week without getting bored.

  • Obviously, a great layer on top of your Thanksgiving yams or sweet potatoes
  • Great on hot chocolate AND COFFEE!
  • Use instead of meringue on your custard pie! Grab your torch and give it that beautiful golden color!
  • Substitute for whipped cream or ice cream on dessert! Go after it with a torch for that caramelized crunch effect and gooier middle!
  • Creative s’mores! You can use any cookie in place of the graham cracker. Go crazy and use giandua (Nutella) or bacon chocolate. Add raspberry or other fruit jam!
  • ON EVERYTHING YOU CAN THINK OF! within reason.

Happy Thanksgiving, US citizens.

Entry filed under: Baking. Tags: , , , , , , .

Oh yeah, I make jewelry and sometimes I try to sell it Jewelry photo feedback

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


