My kitchen mantra case study; sweet roll options

October 27, 2014 at 6:07 pm 2 comments

You may remember a post or two ago I mentioned my kitchen mantra is “use it before it grows fur.” It can also be re-packaged into, “I don’t want to go back to the store.” This laziness– I mean, budget conscious attitude– helps to drive my creativity. It makes me look up new recipes to try or search for substitutions that can be made in a favorite recipe.

Yeah, you wish you could come over.

Yeah, you wish you could come over.

I chose sweet rolls for the following case study. I had some orange juice to use up. I kept seeing all these sweet roll recipes I’d saved on my two favorite smartphone recipe apps (Epicurious and Whole Foods Recipes) and more recipes popping up on the internets. My favorite dough recipe is from the orange bow knot recipe in the red-and-white-checkered-paperback-cookbook-that-has seen-better-days (The New Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook 11th Edition). To make the large amount of dough easier to work with, the recipe directs you to divide the dough in half and each piece gives you 8 rolls, 16 total. For each piece of dough, I decided to do different fillings, because I just don’t like to be bored. Thanks to Epicurious and their 15 delicious ways to use jam article that suggests English Jam Bag Pudding, I was inspired to use jam as a filling as the recipe is not much different from sweet rolls. I have a pile of jam that I have made and been gifted. I thought I should use Erik’s strawberry jam as a filling to sweet rolls. (As it is near Halloween, it pleased me to think of the dark red jam as a sickly gore and reminded me of Walking Dead) Mixing a half cup jam with 2 tablespoons melted butter is an excellent replacement for the cinnamon sugar filling. The other half of the dough got a Garam Masala (one teaspoon), brown sugar (quarter cup), ground almond (quarter cup), and butter filling (2 tablespoons).

The frosting/icing issue uses mantra version 2. I have no cream cheese for frosting and I have no powdered sugar for icing. But goat cheese, check! Honey, check! One part honey to two parts goat cheese makes a great substitute for cream cheese frosting. You could also run for another breakfast staple; maple syrup!

To summarize, I was able to use up Orange Juice, Jam and Goat cheese with this project. Yes (I am fist pumping)!

For my next roll experiment I may decide to cut the sugar and make the filling savory… cheese and spinach… bacon and brussel sprouts… homemade mushroom pate…

Okay. Go be creative with stuff you have and save money by not going back to the store to get stuff you don’t have. And please comment so I feel good about putting myself out here on these inter-webs.

 

 

Entry filed under: Baking. Tags: , , , , , .

Maybe an original idea: SASS Butters and new process Abject Failure; Candy Corn in Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Neda  |  October 27, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    Mushroom pate!? Please post!

    Reply
    • 2. maggiemakesit  |  October 27, 2014 at 6:30 pm

      I’ll do better, Neds, and make them for you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


