Ode to Garrett McCord

August 24, 2014 at 5:40 pm Leave a comment

I kinda have to do this. It’s a little embarrassing, but it’s all true, so I’m just going to put it out there and hope for the best.

Garrett, I love you. I love you in the way a person loves an internet personality. Does that make it any less real? Any less creepy? I love your blog, and I wish to emulate your structure; the clever vignette coupled with recipe just keeps bringing me back. While laughing, I tell all my friends about your past and present adventures. You are not afraid or ashamed of your emotions (thank you), because you shouldn’t be; they are true and part of you. I find your irreverence charming and your recipes inspiring and thank you for co-writing a mac & cheese cookbook (it will take me a while to cook through every recipe as I have rather high cholesterol for my age and level of activity; gotta have a lot of veggies in between). Your stories are colorful and textured, full of golden apricots and Jack the Corgi shit stains of various consistencies, not the trivial grey confessions on many other cooking blogs. Did I mention your recipes are delicious? And hilarious? And allow, even encourage, for variation by the creative user?

I believe you are a good human. You have chosen to work for a non-profit. You and your partner– husband!– have made a lifetime commitment to each other. Through your occasional harsh and eloquent rants about your frustrations regarding our fellow humans and their white-people-first-world problems, I see your idealism and optimism. I’m drawn to your love for animals, need for clean, and care for fruit trees. When your second rosemary plant died, I wanted to root you a cutting to replace it–actually, several in sequence in case the first cutting died, then you would have another one on hand, and another.

I feel like we could be friends. I know that is really creepy. I visit Sacramento occasionally, but I promise never to stalk you. If I see you in public, I’ll respect your space, but you might see me staring wide-eyed at you across the room, trying to figure out what you are eating.

Entry filed under: Shout Out!. Tags: , .

Don’t tell me no; Blueberry sweet rolls Where Art Meets Survival; Burning Man Provisions

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


