In progress: Bead-net dress

March 3, 2012 at 1:33 am 1 comment

Looks like this year is getting off to a good start, except I missed a blog post last month. Oh, and I didn’t brew a beer, but the kegs were still occupied with heavenly liquid so I really couldn’t. Never fear- I be doubling up this month on beer and blog.

I assure you, I have been busy with projects and been struggling to finish this one all winter. While in Boston last September, I was inspired by a trip to the MFA (Museum of Fine Arts) to make a bead-net dress I saw in the Egyptian exhibit. I’m replacing the ancient faience beads with Czech seed, twisted bugle, and fringe beads. The belt is entirely embroidered with bugle beads. This is a huge project. How am I not going crazy? Buffy the Vampire Slayer is taking my mind of the tedium. I will post another photo when it’s all done.

In other news, I got an iPhone so I can take photos and blog from my phone!! I used to hate them, because Morgan would pay more attention to hers than to me. Now we can send messages to each other from three feet away and play Scrabble without having to get out the board.

Entry filed under: Costumes and Accessories, News.

Stuff for my brother’s wedding In progress: Mardi Gras mask

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. maggiemakesit  |  February 10, 2013 at 5:07 pm

    It’s finished! I had it finished in time for Halloween last year, but haven’t had a chance to get it photographed. I ended up changing the bottom fringe. If I make another one, I’ll do it differently (not unusual, you always learn something when you make it for the first time), but it holds together really well. I’m proud of the solid construction.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


