Stuff for my brother’s wedding

January 3, 2012 at 6:30 pm Leave a comment

2011 in review: My brother Mike married the lovely Erica on October 8th of last year in San Francisco. It is one of the favorite weddings I’ve been to. Hard to beat gorgeous locations, beautiful weather, fleet week, vintage trolley ride between ceremony and reception, live band, passion fruit cake, and beer favors. I’m pleased to have helped with some of it.

Mike really wanted a live band and couldn’t think how else he could get one. He was pretty well ecstatic when I offered our jazz and blues band MoonPie to play at his wedding, though he is a rock enthusiast. I’m pleased to say the band had a great time and got all the guests on their feet to dance.

Morgan and I also offered to brew beer for the wedding and were sad to find out we couldn’t serve our beer. BUT we could bottle and give away as favors. We started brewing in August and produced a wit, rye IPA, sweet stout, and barleywine, which should have aged pretty well by now, so if you have a bottle stick it in the fridge so you can enjoy it tonight! While everything finished fermenting on time, we were down to the wire bottling and designing our label. The logo evolved from something reminiscent of a mud flap girl to a more refined art deco and art nouveau style, sort of optical illusion. (All photos except for bottom left were taken by Rhee Bevere and her crack team of shutterbugs.)

Meanwhile, while rushing around getting beer bottled and labeled, band organized, working and being in-and-out of town left me with little time to make my dress, and I just had to make my dress. I couldn’t wear just any old thing to my brother’s wedding! I had long ago chose Butterick 4919 pattern of a dress from 1952 and a fabric from my closet that I bought 10 years ago, a beautiful dark red nearly purple taffeta with black velvet flocking in a swirling flowery design. I only had two days to sew it together, which was just enough time. I didn’t think it matched the picture on the pattern all that well, and sometimes that happens with patterns. It didn’t show off enough décolletage. I used some elastic strips to pull open the neck more. After the wedding I altered it to make the ties come from the back zipper instead of the sides, and added a buckle to the ties in the back that I found at a thrift store. I styled my hair 1950s as best I could and used one of my favorite necklaces (pictured bottom right).

Entry filed under: Costumes and Accessories, Shout Out!.

I resolve to do BLANK in 2012 In progress: Bead-net dress

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


