I resolve to do BLANK in 2012

January 1, 2012 at 11:44 pm 1 comment

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Before the world ends according to the Mayan calendar, this year I will:

1. Make all my clothes. I will not buy any clothing! Well, maybe shoes… No, Maggie. No shoes! No more shoes.

2. Blog more, at least once a month or 12 posts a year, which means make jewelry.

3. Finish and post a new jewelry project every month.

4. Brew beer once a month (a carryover from last year, and I almost did it, too, just slacked off at the end of the year).

5. Learn to speak Italian. Free CDs from the library, yay!

6. Renew my passport.

7. Reduce the crap in my closet by a third.

Entry filed under: News.

The Allure of Green and Purple Stuff for my brother’s wedding

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. maggiemakesit  |  January 2, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    Let’s see how I did.
    1. I didn’t buy any clothing until November. I made it a good long time. Also, I only bought things I knew I wouldn’t be able to make myself. Fail.
    2. Three out of twelve projected blog posts. Fail.
    3. Four out of twelve projected pieces complete. Some of these were giant projects (that bead dress), but still… Fail.
    4. Three out of twelve projected beers brewed. Fail. But granted Morgan tends to hog a lot of the fermenting vessels, and she is an award winning brewer. AND on the bright side, I now feel like I can brew all by myself!
    5. I did not learn how to speak Italian this year. Fail.
    6. I did not renew my passport. I felt like I could never take a good enough photo. But now Morgan has a fancy camera. Fail.
    7. I’d say I reduced the crap in my closet by about a tenth. Fail.

    Things I do feel great about in 2012:
    A. I had so much fun cooking and baking all kinds of amazing things! A goose, a bunch of fish dishes, pot pies which I love!
    B. I have been doing some sewing and using up the pile of fabric in my closet!
    C. Giant life changing decision: I have changed career paths, which leads to a complete lifestyle change. Hopefully, one that will allow me to keep my New Year’s Resolutions.
    D. Our banded landed my favorite gig since the winery gigs, at a top-notch restaurant downtown. We’ve been adding such fun stuff to our repertoire, too.

    All in all, pretty pleased with last year, despite failed resolutions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


