Duvet Transformed into Sumptuous Victorian-Style Robe

February 27, 2011 at 12:00 pm Leave a comment

Behold, our old duvet cover. Beautiful red brocade and the adorable five-month-old Krau (short for Baron Krausen von Dopplebock). In January, I made the old duvet into a sumptuous Victorian-style robe, very Sherlock Holmes. I washed as much cat hair off as I could. I think Krau has a nostalgic feeling about these covers. I made him a bed out of the pillow slips so he would leave the rest of the robe alone…

I hoped it would fit me, but sometimes the pattern says one thing about final measurements and doesn’t stick to it. I used a regular bathrobe pattern, but made the skirt a little fuller and longer. I used some corduroy Mom gave me ages ago for the collar and cuffs contrast, and I added a gold piping to the wide collar. The result is a very kingly, heavy, warm robe. My tall friend Chris modeled for me as the waist is too low for me. I’m currently trying to find this beautiful robe a new home. If I can’t find a friend to take it, maybe you’ll see it on eBay.

Entry filed under: Costumes and Accessories. Tags: .

Neda’s Earrings Old Calendars repurposed into Postcards

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Most Recent Posts


