2011 Beer Schedule

January 10, 2011 at 4:14 am Leave a comment

I know this is a jewelry blog, but Maggie makes beer, too. Yesterday, I made an Extra Special Bitter (ESB), a British Style Pale Ale, which is now starting to happily bloop in the fermenter. I’ve had great success using this recipe in the past (thanks, Jamil) and this is the first time ALL the ingredients are organic! Yay! I did it almost all by myself, with Morgan just being my brewery monkey. And no mistakes!

My beer goals for this year are to brew once a month. I have several things on my list, mostly British styles: Barley Wine, Southern Brown, maybe an Old Ale; but also Robust Porter, Baltic Porter, and Alt. That’s not 11 beers, but I’ll probably pick a few to make several times for practice.

Morgan and I will both be making beer for my brother’s wedding in October. We are also considering giving fermented gifts (beer and cider) for the holidays next year and are discussing what recipes to use. Suggestions are appreciated.

I’ll get back to jewelry soon. I really wanted to do a sewing project, but beer stuff keeps taking up the dining room/fabric cutting table. Soon…

Entry filed under: News.

Classy Old Favorites Neda’s Earrings

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


