Maggie’s First Charitable Donation

July 18, 2009 at 5:23 pm Leave a comment

I had the pleasure of donating three necklaces to a fundraiser for EOC (Ecomonic Opportunity Commission) of San Luis Obispo county called the Afternoon of Epicurean Delights. It was held on 7 June at the famous Chapman House in Shell Beach. My friends volunteering at the event reported to me that of all the silent auction items mine were the most bid on. Wow, my head has swelled to quite a size with all this flattery. Can somebody help me pop this? It’s just not safe; I might knock something over.

Perhaps you are wondering how I’m able to donate items while I’m still paying off my student loan. Well, thanks for being concerned. I’m almost done paying it off. Horray! Which means there will be more opportunity for me to donate items in the future at other events. I’ll try to post that news in a more timely manner.

I scanned this flyer for the event out of a local paper called New Times. Click on it for a larger view. Also below is a small photo of my donations at the event. It is tiny and not the greatest lighting for photos, but hey, you get the idea.

Maggie's Jewelry at the Afternoon of Epicurean DelightsI was really happy to be a part of this event. With all the hardship the downturn in the economy causes, EOC of San Luis Obispo county is an important organization to support because it helps us support and inspire our youth, among other things. Too bad they have had to shut down many of their programs and furlough all employees working on those programs for an undetermined amount of time because money couldn’t be found in the California budget. Sad times.

If you are reading this post (I can’t tell if anyone reads this blog, because I never get any comments) you might remark on the amount of time between the event and this post. Yeah, sorry. I’ve been busy. What with going to the National Homebrewers Conference in Oakland, 4th of July holiday and the preparations for the Labyrinth Masquerade, I just haven’t had a lot of time. I now have to add a new hobby to my long list: I’m now a home-brewer because at the conference I won a drawing for a beer sculpture, which is not really art, just a steel frame with burners and pumps. It is a lot of sexy metal though. Don’t worry, I won’t drink and make jewelry at the same time; I will not compromise the quality of my pieces.

Entry filed under: News.

Opening new doors Labyrinth Masquerade 2009

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


